Mission Statement

We recognize the needs of artistically talented students to attend a local high school that offers a strong instructional program in Instrumental and Music Production Engineering, Vocal Music, Technical Theater, Dance, Drama and Visual Arts. These disciplines are incorporated into the regular school day. Our standards-based, four-year program is designed to prepare all students with the choice of attending an institution of higher learning in a traditional academic area or in performance/visual arts.

About Our School

Fordham High School for the Arts is a school that is housed in the Theodore Roosevelt Educational Campus at 500 East Fordham Road, Bronx, New York 10458. The school is centrally located in Bronx County, across from Fordham University. Theodore Roosevelt Campus is located between East Fordham Road on the north, 189th Street on the south, and between Bathgate and Washington Avenues on the east and west respectively.

Currently, the school occupies the west wing of the second floor. Our present student population is approximately 380 students, grades 9 – 12. We are projected to receive an incoming class of approximately 132 students, for the 2020-2021 school year. Fordham High School for the Arts offers free or low reduced lunch for students who qualify.

The strengths at Fordham High School for the Arts lie in its mission to create a fine and performing arts program in the Bronx. A partnership with practicing artists affords students the opportunity to explore and develop their talents in various mediums of artistic expression. Fordham High School for the arts supports a culture where the arts are valued within a comprehensive college preparatory program.

A credit intervention program meets after school, Monday through Thursday and Saturdays. We follow Department of Education Guidelines for promotion and prepare our students to be enrolled in summer school if the need arises. In this way, we hope to keep all students working towards diploma requirements in conjunction with their respective cohorts.

Staff

Principal
Mr. Johnson, Jr.
Assistant Principal
Guidance Counselor
Ms. Farrar- 9th grade
Turquoise.Farrar@fhsaonline.org
Secretary

Social Worker and College Readiness
Mr. Daley- 10th grade & 11th grade
William.Daley@fhsaonline.org
Ms. Diaz -12th grade
Karina.Diaz@fhsaonline.org
Creative Arts Team
Mr. Easter- Vocal
Jeffrey.Easter@fhsaonline.org
Ms. Kiersten Foster- Dance
Kiersten.Foster@fhsaonline.org
Ms. Key- Drama
Linda.Key@fhsaonline.org
Mr. Lugo - Dance
Richard.Lugo@fhsaonline.org
Ms. Mota- Visual Arts
Lisa.Mota@fhsaonline.org
Mr. Santoro - Music Production & Instrumental
Michael.Santoro@fhsaonline.org
Ms. Wright - Technical Theatre
Haylee.Wright@fhsaonline.org
English Language Learner/ Foreign Language
Physical Education
Support Staff
Mr. Carrera
Mr. Fernandez
Ms. Ingram
Mr. Martinez
Ms. Ouk
Ms. Placencio
Library/ Media Specialist